Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Skillet Halibut with Charred Corn Salad December 22, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

We have a lot of halibut in our freezer and are always looking for new ways to cook it. I served this recipe with some leftover couscous. I wish I had dug out my cast iron skillet instead of using the one I did but I still got a good char and flavor.

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 ears of corn, kernels removed
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • ½ jalapeno, minced
  • 3 scallions thinly sliced, light green parts only
  • 1 pint grape or cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • ½ cup fresh mint leaves roughly chopped
  • 2 tablespoons fresh juice from about 2 limes
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 halibut fillets (about 1 1/2 to 2 pounds)

IMG_3949

Directions:

Heat 1 tablespoon of the olive oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium heat until hot. Add the corn and a pinch of salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until the corn has charred slightly, about 5 minutes.

Add the corn to a serving bowl and mix with the jalapeno, scallions, tomatoes, mint leaves, lime juice, and extra-virgin olive, and season to taste. Set aside.

IMG_3950

Wipe out the same skillet and add the remaining olive oil over medium-high heat until shimmering. Season fish with salt and pepper. Add the fish skin side down and until the skin is crisp, about 4 minutes. Carefully flip and cook until just cooked through, about 3 minutes longer. Serve with the corn salad.

IMG_3951

