Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Slow cooker cabbage rolls November 25, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

I love cabbage rolls but have never attempted them myself. I was looking for a slow cooker recipe and came across this one. While I liked the flavor, I wish that I had more sauce. I recommend doubling the sauce recipe if you enjoy a saucy cabbage roll.

Ingredients:

  • 10 cabbage leaves
  • 1/2 cup uncooked rice
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1 lb. lean ground beef

Sauce

  • 15 ounce can tomato sauce
  • 2 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 2 Tbs. lemon juice
  • 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

IMG_3849

Directions:

Boil a pot of water and add head of cabbage, cook for 2 minutes and drain. (You can freeze cabbage then thaw and skip the boiling part. We just need the leaves soft enough to roll)

Combine rice, egg, milk, onion, garlic, beef, salt, and seasonings in large bowl. Mix all sauce ingredients together.

IMG_3850

Place 1/4 cup meat mixture in center of leaf and roll, tucking ends. Place seam side down in slow cooker.

IMG_3851

Pour sauce over rolls. Cook on low 8 hours in slow cooker.

IMG_3853

Serve over rice and enjoy!

IMG_3855

 

Leave a Reply

