Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Bacon Cheddar Onion Biscuits May 21, 2013

Filed under: Pioneer Women — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

I have baked a recipe from The Pioneer Women in the past and didn’t enjoy it, so I didn’t post it. I tried again with this recipe and while I wasn’t wowed by it, every one else loved them so I decided to post it. Well, the hubs didn’t love it because of all the onions but I  expected that.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 3/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 cup Vegetable Shortening
  • 10 tbso Milk
  • 4 tbso Vegetable Oil
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 10 slices Thick Cut Bacon, Fried And Crumbled
  • 1 cup Finely Diced Onion
  • 1 cup Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Picture 068

Directions:

Cook bacon and onions

Picture 069

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry cutter, cut in shortening until all combined.

Combine milk, oil, and egg in a separate bowl. Whisk together.

Picture 070

Combine flour mixture, milk mixture, bacon, onions, and cheddar cheese in a large bowl. Stir gently until all combined.

Spoon batter into greased muffin tins. Bake for 20 to 22 minutes on 375 degrees until golden Remove from pan and serve warm.

(I forgot to take a post cooking photo but I will let ya’ll use your imaginations)

Picture 071

 

Leave a Reply

