Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Pasta With Slow-Cooker Pork Ragù March 30, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

This was a recipe I came across and new I had to make. I love a good, rich pasta sauce. Most I see are with beef, some with chicken but not that many with pork that catch my interest. I’m not a big pork person but I really enjoyed this. The hubs thought it was so so but I don’t agree. I was worried at first when I saw that there was no sugar in the recipe as tomato paste can be tart but the carrots really added a good bit of sweetness.

Ingredients:

  • 1  large carrot, chopped
  • 1  medium onion, chopped
  • 2  cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2  tablespoons  tomato paste
  • 1  teaspoon  dried thyme
  • 1  teaspoon  dried oregano
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1  14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 1 1/2  pounds  boneless pork shoulder or butt, trimmed and cut in half
  • 3/4  pound  fettuccine
  • grated Parmesan, for serving

Picture 047

 

 

Directions:

In a 4- to 6-quart slow cooker, combine the carrot, onion, garlic, tomato paste, thyme, oregano, ¾ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper. Add the tomatoes (and their juices).

Picture 048

Add the pork and turn to coat.

Picture 049

Cover and cook until the pork is very tender, on low for 7 to 8 hours or on high for 5 to 6 hours (this will shorten total recipe time).

Twenty minutes before serving, cook the fettuccine according to the package directions; drain and return it to the pot. Meanwhile, using 2 forks, shred the pork and mix it into the cooking liquid.

Picture 051

Toss the pasta with the ragù and sprinkle with the Parmesan.

Picture 052

 

One Response to “Pasta With Slow-Cooker Pork Ragù”

  1. Khyra's Mom Says:

    Another I’ll be saving for future tasty fun!


Leave a Reply

