Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Crock Pot Chicken and Barley Soup March 22, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

I love a good crock pot recipe. In sticking with my craving of soup and sandwiches I decided to make a variation on this one. I had some turkey breast tenderloins in the freezer. I always like to cook my meats in the soup if I can to give it more flavor instead of using precooked like the recipe calls for. This one turned out really good!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup celery, finely diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 3 carrots, finely diced
  • 1 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup pearl barley (not the quick-cooking kind)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1.25 lb turkey breast (or chicken)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 14 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Picture 042

 

Directions:

In a small pan saute the garlic, celery and carrots in 1 tbsp olive oil.
Picture 043
After about 5 minutes add in the tomato paste and saute for two minutes.
Picture 045
While the veggies are sauteing, combine the rest of the ingredients minus the barley in the crock pot.
Picture 044
Cook on low for 3 hours. Add the barley and cook for another 5 hours. Shred the meat and return to pot. Enjoy!
Picture
 

One Response to “Crock Pot Chicken and Barley Soup”

  1. Khyra's Mom Says:

    I’ve SO starred this one to make sometime soon!


Leave a Reply

