Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Thai Red Curry Turkey – Crock Pot March 4, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

I really modified this recipe that I came across. I didn’t want to use ground turkey. I don’t really care for the taste of ground meat in a creamy curry. Instead I used turkey breast and it turned out great. In typical me fashion, I used the entire can of coconut milk and I had to thicken everything with cornstarch (optional or you can just use part of the can). Overall it was yummy and made for great leftovers.

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/4 lb turkey
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 4 scallions, white and green parts sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 2 tsp red curry paste, or more to taste
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp fish sauce
  • 6 oz coconut milk
  • Cooked white, brown or basmati rice (optional)
  • Fresh cilantro leaves, for garnish (optional)

Picture 016

 

Directions:

Chop the turkey, red pepper, scallions and garlic and add to a crock pot.

In a bowl, combine the lime juice, brown sugar, fish sauce and curry paste. Mix to combine.

Picture 017

 

Add the sauce to the crock pot and toss everything together.

Picture 018

 

Turn heat on low and cook for 4-5 hours. Add in coconut milk and cook on high for another 30 minutes. Serve over rice and top with cilantro and hot sauce. Enjoy!

Picture 023

 

Leave a Reply

