Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Beef and Herb Soup October 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

I have this thing for picking up cook books that are on clearance. I figure if I get one or two good things out of them its worth it. I still prefer a cook book to an internet recipe, seems more real to me. Ironic since I am a food blogger. ANYWAYS I picked up the cookbook “Soup” edited by Debra Mayhew a few years ago and love the recipes. I adapt most of them but come winter it’s a go to favorite book. This turned out to be so yummy. I put sour cream on mine but it was just as good without.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 Large Onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tbsp turmeric
  • ½ cup green split peas
  • 1 quart water
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 cup long-grain rice
  • 3 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 3 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 3 tbsp chopped chives
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 4 tbsp chopped mint
  • ½ tsp saffron strands
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

In a large pot, heat the oil. Add in the onion and beef and fry until golden. Add the turmeric, split peas and water and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

Add the rice, parsley, cilantro and chives. Simmer for 30 minutes until the rice is tender stirring frequently.

Melt the butter in a small pan. Add the garlic and mint. Stir the garlic mixture into the soup along with the saffron.

Enjoy

 

Leave a Reply

