Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Crock Pot Ginger Beef with Peppers and Mushrooms (and asparagus too) October 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — kariryerson @ 12:00 am

I don’t come across many Asian style crock pot recipes with lots of veggies. They are normally meat heavy, which I don’t mind but I do love my veggies. I was very excited to see this recipe. At the last minute I added in some asparagus that we had in the fridge. The flavor was just OK. I added Sriracha to my servings since I felt it needed some heat.

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 pounds beef top round steak cut into 3/4 in cubes, or stew beef
  • 24 baby carrots
  • 1 Red Bell pepper seeded and chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper seeded and chopped
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 8 oz package of fresh mushrooms
  • 2 tbs grated fresh ginger or 1 tsp dried ginger
  • 1 cup Beef Broth
  • 1/2 cup Hoisin Sauce
  • 1/4 cup quick cooking tapioca
  • White Rice Cooked
  • Toasted sesame seeds (optional)
Directions:
Combine all ingredients except rice in slow cooker. If using asparagus add in one hour before service so that it doesn’t become mush.
Cover an cook on low 8-9 hours
Serve over white rice if desired. Top with toasted sesame seeds (optional)
 

2 Responses to “Crock Pot Ginger Beef with Peppers and Mushrooms (and asparagus too)”

  1. Christy Says:

    I’ve never cooked with tapioca before and remember hating it as a child. What is the reason for tapioca here? Is it just a thickener? Could I sub corn starch, or should I just put on my big girl panties and try tapioca again? 🙂


Leave a Reply

