Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Sunday Dinner Pot Roast June 21, 2012

Filed under: Costco — kariryerson @ 9:00 am

Pot roast is one of my all time favorite meals. I came across this simple recipe in a Costco cookbook and my husband said it was his favorite pot roast he had eaten (and thats saying a lot with the number that we make). I made mine in a Dutch Oven but I think it would also work very well in a dutch oven.

Ingredients:

  • 3lbs boneless beef chuck roast
  • 2 tsp McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 4 small potatoes
  • 4 carrots cut (I used baby carrots)
  • 1 medium onion, cut into wedges
  • Flour for thickening

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Place roast in a 3-quart baking dish. Sprinkle with steak seasoning.

Mix broth, basing, oregano and thyme; pour over the meat. Cover.

Bake for 1 1/2 hours.

Place carrots, potatoes and onion in the pan around the roast. Cover and bake for 1 1/2 hours longer, or until the roast is tender.

If desired, thicken pan juices with flour before serving (this is something we always do).

 

One Response to “Sunday Dinner Pot Roast”

  1. Khyra's Mom Says:

    My mom was never much of a cook but she did do a nice pot roast –

    I think I took on the family cooking duties so we would eat interesting things!

    I can smell this one now!


Leave a Reply

