Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Crockpot Corona Carnitas May 9, 2012

Filed under: My Recipes — kariryerson @ 7:14 am

How about that for some alliteration? I bought a giant pork shoulder roast on sale a few months back and have been waiting to use it. I have seen a bunch of crockpot carnitas recipes online so I decided to give it a try. I made mine in advance and then heated what I needed in a pan to crisp it up and froze the rest for later use. I made a huge batch

Ingredients:

  • 7lb pork shoulder roast
  • juice and zest of one orange
  • juice and zest of one lime
  • 1 bottle Corona
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tbsp ground corriander
  • 1 tbsp Mexican oregano
  • 2 tbsp cumin
  • 2 tbsp garlic salt
  • 1 tbsp Ancho Chili Powder
  • 4 cloves garlic

Directions:

In a crock pot combine the beer, juices and bay leaves

In a bowl combine zest, garlic and spices

Cut your roast down to manageable pieces and rub each piece with the spices before placing in the crock pot.

Cover and cook over low for 8-10 hours or until pull apart tender.

You can eat at this point as is or crisp pork in a pan.

 

One Response to “Crockpot Corona Carnitas”

  1. Roo Says:

    You have so many fantastic recipes! and the photos are very drool worthy πŸ™‚ I just spent I don’t know how long reading and drooling over at least a dozen of them. YUMMMMMMMERRRRRS! Have company coming and staying for a couple weeks. Will try and work in at least one of your recipes while they are here πŸ™‚ Will post about it too! πŸ˜€

    Wags and Hugs,
    Roo and Mom


Leave a Reply

