Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Mexican Mac N Cheese April 26, 2012

Filed under: Better Homes and Gardens — kariryerson @ 10:00 am

We went on vacation… again.  With the 4 dogs at home we had my sister in law come stay at the house so I prepped a bunch of meals for her. This time around I split it into smaller pans so that if she didn’t like something she wasn’t stuck with a large pan of it. In the end we had one left over pan of this and so the hubs and I ate and enjoyed it quite a bit. I got my recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens website.

Ingredients:

  • 12ounces dried mostaccioli or rigatoni pasta (3 cups)
  • 1 pound bulk pork sausage
  • 1 cup chopped onion (I had shallots in my fridge so I used those)
  • 1 16 oz jar green medium-hot salsa
  • 2 8 oz package shredded Monterey Jack cheese (4 cups)
  • Tomato wedges, sliced jalapeno peppers, and chopped fresh cilantro
  • Salsa (optional)

Directions:

Lightly grease 3-quart rectangular baking dish; set aside. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain; set aside.

Meanwhile, in large skillet cook sausage and onion until meat is browned and onion is tender.

Drain fat, Return sausage and onion to skillet. Stir in green salsa and pasta.

At this point I topped with cheese and froze.

When ready to read, thaw and preheat the over to 350. Bake, uncovered, for 35 minutes or until bubbly. Let stand 10 minutes. Top with tomato, jalapeno, and cilantro. If desired, serve with additional salsa. Makes 12 servings.

 

Leave a Reply

