Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Pesto and Moz pasta April 12, 2012

Filed under: My Recipes — kariryerson @ 10:01 am

I love cooking with fresh basil but I have found its always cheaper to buy the big containers of it instead of the little ones. To make sure that I use up all the extra basil, I like to make a pesto since it freezes and stores well. I love to mix it with seasoned mozzarella balls to make a delicious pasta side.

Ingredients:

Pesto:

  • 2 bunches basil
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 3 cloves chopped garlic
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (you can use pine but I live walnuts)
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 lb dried pasta
  • 1 cup diced seasoned mozzarella balls

Directions:

In a food processor add all items for the pesto starting with 2tbsp of the oil. Blend until it forms a smooth paste adding more oil as needed.

Boil your pasta according to package directions

Mix in 3tbsp of the pesto mix and mozzarella

Serve with anything you like (we had halibut and mixed veg)

 

Leave a Reply

