Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Chicken and Black Bean Chimichangas October 6, 2011

Filed under: My Recipes — kariryerson @ 9:45 am

This is another simple twist on a family favorite, tacos. To make them that much healthier, I deep fried them into Chimichangas. The hubs is of the mindset that anything is better deep fried, this time I agree.

Ingredients:

  • Oil for frying
  • 1.5 lbs ground chicken (I just put chicken breasts in the food processor)
  • 15oz can black beans
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • Salt
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Cilantro
  • Juice of one lime
  • 4oz queso fresco
  • Cayenne sauce to taste
  • 8-10 inch flour tortillas
  • Salsa, Sour cream and Guacamole to serve

Directions

In a pan over medium heat, add a little bit of oil, the chicken, onion and jalapeno to a pan. Saute until chicken is cooked. Add in beans, salt and cayenne and mix until beans are warmed. At this point I transfer everything to a bowl so I can use my hands without burning them. Add in lime juice, cilantro, queso fresco and cayenne sauce. Mix thoroughly.

In a deep pan heat one inch of oil to 350. Fill each tortilla with the chicken and bean mixture. Fry with the folded side down to begin. Once crisp, roll over and brown the other side. Serve with salsa, sour cream and guacamole.

 

Leave a Reply

