Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

Cashew! God Bless You Chicken March 13, 2011

Filed under: Rachael Ray — kariryerson @ 12:06 pm

I am always a bit weary of a recipe that calls for Hoisin sauce as I find it a bit sweet. I added extra red pepper flakes to balance it out and I found I really enjoyed this Rachael Ray: 30-Minute Meals recipe. I also used to hate water chestnuts but I added them anyways and found that I liked them in this dish.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box jasmine rice (I used regular white rice)
  • 1 pound of boneless, skinless chicken breast, diced
  • Combine in bowl with
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced and mashed
  • 2 tbsp rice wine, rice vinegar, or dry sherry (I used dry sherry)
  • A couple shakes of crushed red pepper
  • Black pepper, to taste
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and diced into small cubes
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 can (about 7 ounces) sliced water chestnuts, drained and coarsely chopped
  • 3 heaping tbsp Hoisin sauce
  • A couple handfuls cashews
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced on an angle

    Directions:

    Following directions on box, start rice.

    Heat oil in a wok or large nonstick skillet over high heat until it smokes. Add carrot and stir-fry for 2 or 3 minutes. Add the coated chicken and cook another 3 or 4 minutes. Toss in the bell pepper and chestnuts. Heat through for 1 minute. Add the Hoisin and toss to coat evenly. Dump chicken out over a bed of jasmine rice and top with cashews and green onions.

     

    Leave a Reply

    