Look at what's cookin

My adventure's in feeding my family

The 10 minute meal February 20, 2010

Filed under: Jamie Oliver — kariryerson @ 2:05 am

Another Jamie Oliver meal. I tend to pick one cookbook for the week. I grab four recipes that look good and put together my list. This recipe turned out good. Bought the baguette a couple days before I got around to using it, so it was a big tough but otherwise a winner in our house.

Scottish Pete’s Cheese Steak Sandwich

From Jamie Oliver’s book “Jamie’s Dinners”

Ingredients

  • Baguette
  • A nice piece of rib eye, sirloin or rump steak (I used a chunk of rump roast)
  • Sea Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • Provolone cheese
  • Arugula
  • Yellow Mustard

Instructions

Heat the baguette in a 300 degree oven for a couple minutes until warm and not too crispy. Take your piece of meat and bash it out until its thinner and tenderize it. Season with salt and pepper. Cook on a hot griddle.

Once nicely seared, turn it over and immediately grate Provolone cheese over the top (I used slices so I just laid them on). Once the other side is done, place it on a board, slice it up and stuff it into your baguette with some arugula. Pour steak juice and yellow mustard over and tuck in.

 

Leave a Reply

